NewWorks is the DaCapo Chamber Choir’s third recording.  With this recording, we feature choral compositions of ten of Canada’s current composers. All compositions were written in the second decade of this century and premiered by the choir, and most were winners or honourable mention submissions in DaCapo’s annual NewWorks choral composition competition.

Read The Whole Note review here…”Canadian choral music shines thanks to DaCapo!”

Purchasing NewWorks
Our NewWorks recording is available to purchase through all major online music vendors, including iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, and more.  Simply search “DaCapo NewWorks”.

You can also order a CD via PayPal.

Track Listing
(click on the song title to listen to a portion of the piece)

  1. In Sweet Music ~ David Archer (2015 NewWorks winner)
  2. Harvest ~ Benjamin Bolden (2016 NewWorks winner)
  3. Le Pont Mirabeau ~ Jeff Enns (2012 NewWorks honourable mention)
  4. Song of Invocation ~ Sheldon Rose (2012 NewWorks winner)
  5. The Echo ~ Patrick Murray (2011 NewWorks winner)
  6. Tabula Rasa ~ Don Macdonald (2010 NewWorks winner)
  7. Candles ~ Christine Donkin (2010 NewWorks honourable mention)
  8. Shadows ~ James Rolfe
  9. Night on a Starry Hill ~ Matthew Emery (2014 NewWorks winner)
  10. The Immortal ~ Nicholas Ryan Kelly (2017 NewWorks winner)

Singers on the Recording


Laura Enns

Sara Fretz

Maria Geleynse

Sara Martin

Sarah Pearson

Janelle Santi

Caroline Schmidt

Hannah Swiderski


Theresa Bauer

Janice Maust Hedrick

Alex Meinzinger

Susan Schwartzentruber

Laura Shantz

Jennie Wiebe

Angela Zhang


Brian Black

Mike Colla

Curtis Dueck

Chris Everett

Robert Gooding-Townsend

Jerry Liu

Stephen Preece

Joel VanderZee

Travis Wiart


Joel Becker

Donny Cheung

Daniel Cockayne

Michael Hook

Daniel King

Phillip Klassen-Rempel

Luc Larocque

Michael Lepock

Daniel Morris

This recording was accomplished in a number of sessions, over a two year period. While the choir performs and records with a maximum of 24 voices, the list above is larger, reflecting the reality of normal changes in personnel over the four recording sessions of this project.


Recording engineer, editing: Ed Marshall
Editing, mastering: Earl McCluskie, Chestnut Hall Music
Producers: Leonard Enns and Sara Martin
Artistic director, conductor: Leonard Enns
Marketing director, choir manager: Sara Martin
Creative direction, graphic designer: Heather Lee, Lee Designs

Recorded at Trillium Lutheran (formerly St. John’s Lutheran), Waterloo, ON.

The DaCapo Chamber Choir gratefully acknowledges ongoing support for the NewWorks competition from the Wallenstein Feed Charitable Foundation and funding for this recording from the Ontario Arts Council.